Interest charge

Lawson wins sprint race, Drugovich extends championship lead with late charge RaceFans

Junior Red Bull driver Liam Lawson won the Spa Formula 2 sprint race from fifth on the grid as Felipe Drugovich edged Theo Pourchaire in the title chase.

Lawson capitalized on a stellar start to quickly take the lead he held the entire race, while a late pit stop for soft tires under Safety Car saw Drugovich move up to fourth under the flag at checkerboard.

Ralph Boschung had taken pole from the partially reversed grid, with Jehan Daruvala set to line up alongside him. However, Daruvala failed to even make it to the grid, having to leave the track on the lap from the support paddock. Title contender Theo Pourchaire started third, with Richard Verschoor fourth, behind the empty grid spot of Daruvala.

Fifth starter Liam Lawson got off to the best start and snatched second place from The Source. Pourchaire consequently retreated and found himself overtaken by Verschoor at the top of the Raidillon. Lawson stayed with Boschung, passing him on the Kemmel straight to take the lead on lap two.

The rather processional race continued until Logan Sargeant lost control of his Carlin on the exit of Pouhon, spinning and hitting the barriers, causing a safety car on lap 11. position behind his teammate Clément Novalak.

When the race resumed on lap 15, Novalak let his teammate pass at La Source but Drugovich went out to Les Combes trying to overtake Juri Vips and had to return a place to the Hitech driver. Drugovich recovered quickly, taking advantage of his soft tires with just three laps to go to start moving up the standings.

Lawson held on to the lead, three seconds ahead of Boschung on the penultimate lap, who himself was a second ahead of third-placed Jack Doohan. Behind them, however, Drugovich was unstoppable, moving all the way up to fourth with a pass on Pourchaire, then hunting down third on the final lap.

Doohan passed Boschung on the final lap but the Campos driver was able to stay ahead of Drugovich to the line, while Lawson took the flag with a considerable lead, nearly four seconds ahead and also setting the fastest lap .

Lawson’s victory moves him from eighth to fifth in the championship, replacing fellow Red Bull junior Jehan Daruvala. Drugovich extends his lead over Pourchaire in the standings, now 25 points ahead, while Sargeant’s retirement leaves him trailing 68 points in third.

Announcement | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 2 sprint race results at Spa

Position Auto Driver Crew
1 5 Liam Lawson Pug
2 3 Jack Doohan Virtuosos
3 15 Ralph Boschung Fields
4 11 Felipe Drugovitch deputy
5 20 Richard Verschoor Trident
6 ten Theo Pourchaire ART
seven seven Marcus Armstrong hitech
8 24 David Beckman Van Amersfoort
9 17 Ayumu Iwasa DAMS
ten 1 Denis Hauger Prema
11 16 Roy Nissany DAMS
12 4 Marin Sato Virtuosos
13 22 Enzo Fittipaldi Charouz
14 8 Juri Vips hitech
15 9 Frederic Vesti ART
16 21 Calan Williams Trident
17 12 Clement Novalak deputy
18 25 Amaury Cordeel Van Amersfoort
19 23 Tatiana Calderon Charouz
20 14 Lirim Zendeli Fields
DNF 6 Logan Sargeant Pug
DNF 2 Jehan Daruvala Prema

Announcement | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 2

Browse all Formula 2 articles